Incumbents fall in primary; Scholl wins GOP sheriff's race

It was a tough night for Chickasaw County supervisors incumbents Tuesday as both Democrat Rick Holthaus and Republican Steve Geerts were defeated in the primary election.
David Tilkes topped Rick Holthaus, who was seeking a third term on the Board of Supervisors while Ron Underwood won a three-way battle for the GOP nomination in District 4.
Tilkes garnered 121 votes, or 56.2 percent, while Holthaus got 94 votes in the district that covers the northern part of Chickasaw County.
Tilkes will take on Republican Dennis Litterer, who ran unopposed Tuesday, in November’s general election, although Holthaus could file as an independent later this summer.
Underwood, meanwhile, received 217 votes, or 56.1 percent, while Geerts got 143. Dan Feuling finished a distant third with 27 votes. District 4 covers Wards 2 and 3 in New Hampton and the townships to the immediate east of the city.
Democrats did not put up a District 4 candidate in Tuesday’s primary, although they could nominate one in a special election.
In the other contested race, Ben Scholl, a Nashua reserve police officer who was hired as a part-time officer earlier this week, beat Doug Kollman in a close race for the Republican nomination.
Scholl received 272 votes, or 52.9 percent, while Kollman polled 242 votes. Scholl will now meet Marty Hemann, the chief deputy who ran unopposed in the Democratic primary, in November.
Other candidates running unopposed Tuesday included Democrat Joan Knoll for county auditor and Republican Jacob Hackman and Democrat Jeremy McGrath for the District 3 supervisor seat.

New Hampton Tribune

10 North Chestnut Ave
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here