New Hampton voters have choice

Cantu, Kuhn square off for city council at-large seat

Contested municipal elections were a rarity in New Hampton … at least until recent years.

Now, they almost seem to be a rule.

While two City Council incumbents — Scott Perkins and Bruce Dirro — are running unopposed in the Nov. 7 election, a third seat is up for grabs as both Matt Kuhn and Jeremiah Kuhn are running for the at-large seat currently held by Jill Eike, who decided not to run for re-election.

It marks the third straight election in which city voters will have a choice to make.

In November 2015, Joe Denner bested Deb Larsen for an at-large seat, and less than four months later, Larsen was elected mayor in a special election that had three candidates on the ballot.

Polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m. on Nov. 7, but early voting is underway at the Chickasaw County Auditor’s Office.


For more of this article, see Friday's New Hampton Tribune.

New Hampton Tribune

10 North Chestnut Ave
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here