Michael Blockhus kept his hopes of winning three state titles alive with a second-period pin in the opening round of the state tournament.

NH/TV takes lead after first day of traditional state tournament

Chickasaws keep eight alive in Des Moines

New Hampton/Turkey Valley kept eight of its nine wrestlers alive after the first session of the Class 2A state wrestling tournament, and five Chickasaws remain on the front side of th bracket.
Michael Blockhus (138), Noah Fye (145), Cale Reicks (160) and Areon Day (220) all recorded first-round pins while sophomore 182-pounder Evan Rosonke upset third-ranked Ben Lee of Ballard 2-1 in Thursday’s opening round.
Three of the Chickasaws who lost in the first round rebounded to stay alive on the consolation side of the bracket.
Mason Cleveland (126) and Max Babcock (132) both picked up decisions in their first-round consolation matches while Noah Glaser picked up a first-period pin on the back side.
NH/TV’s pins allowed it to pile up 10 bonus points and the Chickasaws took the first-day lead with 23 team points, 4.5 more than second-place West Liberty.
The 2A wrestlers return to the mat on Friday morning.
Here are Thursday’s results for the Chickasaws:
120: Champ. Round 1 - Kaden Anderlik (Crestwood) dec. Carson Babcock, 6-1. Cons. Round 1 - Tyler Landgrebe (Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont) dec. Babcock, 11-8.
126: Champ. Round 1 - Shea Ruffridge (Pocahontas Area) dec. Mason Cleveland, 9-2. Cons. Round 1 - Cleveland (NHTV) dec. Isaac Bryan (Sergeant Bluff-Luton), 7-3.
132: Champ. Round 1 - Gabe Ruepke (Chariton) maj. dec. Max Babcock, 9-1. Cons. Round 1 - Babcock dec. Gunner Rodgers (North Fayette Valley), 2-0.
138: Champ. Round 1 - Michael Blockhus pinned Andy Brokaw (Solon), 2:09.
145: Champ. Round 1 - Noah Fye pinned Isaiah Spencer (Spencer), 1:11.
160: Champ. Round 1 - Cale Reicks pinned Austin Beaver (West Liberty), 1:47.
170: Tristan Hansmeier (Waukon) dec. Noah Glaser, 8-6. Cons. Round 1 - Glaser pinned Coby Meyer (Knoxville), 0:53/
182: Champ. Round 1 - Evan Rosonke dec. Ben Lee (Ballard), 2-1.
220: Champ. Round 1 - Areon Day pinned Lake Stahlberg (Monticello), 4:40.

New Hampton Tribune

10 North Chestnut Ave
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111
Email: tribune@nhtrib.com

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here